National Partnership for Women & Families

In the News

Mich. Lawmaker Introduces 20-Week Abortion Ban

Mich. Lawmaker Introduces 20-Week Abortion Ban

September 14, 2015 — A Michigan state lawmaker on Wednesday introduced a bill (HB 4851) that would ban abortion at 20 weeks of pregnancy, WZZM reports.

According to WZZM, the bill is modeled off of a 20-week ban signed into law (Act 56) in Wisconsin in July. Efforts to ban abortion at 20 weeks also are under consideration in Congress.

Bill Details

The Michigan bill, which has four co-sponsors, would make it a felony to perform an abortion at 20 weeks of pregnancy or later (Hogan, WZZM, 9/10). A person who performs an abortion at 20 weeks or later could face up to 15 years imprisonment, a fine up to $7,500 or both (HB 4851, 9/9).

Under the measure, abortion after 20 weeks' gestation would be allowed in cases when the woman's life is in danger.

The bill has been referred to the Michigan House Committee on Criminal Justice (WZZM, 9/10).